Gratitude

Image

“When anxious, uneasy and bad thoughts come, I go to the sea,

and the sea drowns them out with its great wide sounds,

cleanses me with its noise,

and imposes a rhythm upon everything in me that is bewildered and confused.”

Rainer Maria Rilke

Image

I’ve been bewildered and challenged and exhausted of late, all in another state

far, far from my beach.

I survived.

I returned.

I walked the sunrise and breathed in new life to my tired cells.

Today, I am thankful, grateful, for this place to which I can return and renew Myself.

IMG_8567_1000x667

Like this beach fence I’ve been through a storm and survived,

tested and proven to be strong enough.

Strong enough.

IMG_8561_1000x667

Each of us must find our Safe Haven to which we can return,

plug in and recharge.

This is mine.

IMG_8582_1000x667

Breathe it in.

Today, working on Gratitude.

21 comments

  1. Such stunning photos, a perfect match to your thoughts.

    I am going through a storm myself – will need to seek out a safe haven.

    Rilke’s words are so apt.
    Remind me of Sarah McLachlan’s song, Drawn to the Rhythm

    Drawn To The Rhythm

    When we wore a heart of stone we wandered to the sea
    Hoping to find some comfort there yearning to feel free
    And we were mesmerized by the lull of the night and the smells that filled the air
    And we layed us down on sandy ground it was cold but we didn’t care

    [CHORUS]

    And we were drawn to the rhythm
    Drawn to the rhythm of the sea
    And we were drawn to the rhythm
    Drawn to the rhythm of the sea

    1. I am not familiar with this song, Cnawan. Thank you. Sarah’s music, and that of a few other artists, are also a form of Safe Haven to me and others. I hope you find your Safe Haven during this, your personal stormy weather. Stay in touch.

  2. So very beautiful…words…photos…and it would seem you!! What a special place you have to rebuild…to strengthen. Happy I landed here πŸ™‚ I hope that you will find comfort in the peaceful stillness between storms. Blessitude…Lorrie

Leave a Reply

