Impressions of Scotland

IMG_9369_FerrytoIonaFionnphort_1000x667

Fionnphort (C) 2014 by Debi Bradford

Fionnphort on the Isle of Mull.  We crossed the Sound of Iona by ferry, leaving here for the Isle of Iona.

IMG_9421_Iona_1000x563

Hill of the Angels (C) 2014 by Debi Bradford

Isle of Iona, Scotland.  St. Columba liked to pray on this hill while the sun set into the sea.  The story goes that a young monk followed St. Columba one evening, curious as to what he was doing on said hill.  The young monk watched “angels of light” ascending and descending upon St. Columba so the hill became known as the Hill of the Angels.  Lots of supernatural activity has been attributed to this site, accounting for a lot of both Christian and Pagan celebrations according to the Iona website.

IMG_9455_IonaBenedictineAbbey_1000x667

Window and rock (C) 2014 by Debi Bradford

Walking around inside the Iona Abbey, ferns growing wild upon its inner walls, breathing Celtic air, enjoying the scent of ancient stones there was this window and rock.  This abbey was founded by St. Columba in 563AD.

563AD.

Let that sink in.  I’ll wait.

 

IMG_9480_Iona_1000x667

Black face sheep (C) 2014 by Debi Bradford

There are several kinds of sheep that wander freely (or not) around Scotland and its islands.  The black face sheep is the most resilient and hardy, so we were informed.

IMG_9489_IonaBeach_1000x667

Baile Mor (C) by Debi Bradford

Of course, I had to take some photos of the beach.  Here we found nice sea glass and some pottery.  Rocks may or may not have been brought home.

IMG_9507_MullThruW‌indow_1000x667

Somewhere in Mull (C) 2014 by Debi Bradford

No idea where but I do know we were somewhere on the Isle of Mull racing back to catch another ferry to the mainland.  I got quite good at taking photographs from a moving vehicle.

I’ve lots to share so hold on tight.

I’ll be back.

 

21 comments

  1. …hey…I wasn’t finished…not sure why that posted… Anyway, as I was saying, These are so enchanting! Must be so gratifying to relive your trip as you share it with us. Hope to see more and glad you’re back!

    1. Thank you! I’ve miss you! I’ve been processing photos like a fiend yet only about halfway finished. Each photo brings up warm memories. I miss Scotland, too. I’m amazed at how well some of the “through the window” shots turned out – those I HAVE to share! ….you’ve been warned.

  2. Beautiful photos, Debi. I’ve really enjoyed each of them…. we are heading to Scotland in October, hope I can find some beautiful scenes like these to capture!

    1. I’m envious of your upcoming Scotland adventure! Where will you be going? You will find heather, for sure, in October! We got the golden gorse so to see fields and fields of heather will be breathtaking. I look forward to seeing Scotland from YOUR eyes!

Leave a Reply

