Be a Rainbow

 

IMG_4128_900x600

“The thing to do, it seems to me,

is to prepare yourself so you can be a rainbow in somebody else’s cloud.

Somebody who may not look like you.

May not call God the same name you call God –

if they call God at all.

I may not dance your dances or speak your language.

But be a blessing to somebody.

That’s what I think.”

Maya Angelou

So I scrolled down, down, down to see what I’ve been posting and I’m embarrassed to report that the few times I’ve posted I’ve only been quoting other’s words with my images. Granted, they are wise words.  They are even beautiful words all strung together in such a way as to remind me of Christmas lights.  Beautiful and illuminating.

But you know that’s what I’ve posting because, well, you’re here aren’t you?  So I’m snapping out of it, starting anew and blogging my own thoughts.  I had to quote Ms. Angelou today because of the rainbow and in hopes her genius would jumpstart some sort of original thought in my head.

I’ve been … not me, for quite some time.  A couple of unexpected deaths in the family the past couple of years had me reeling with travel and duty and paperwork and grief.  Thankfully, I’ve a reprieve!  I’ve had time to breathe since January, when my father passed away.  It’s still raw, and unexpected emotional pain still surprises me from time to time but that’s normal.  I’d be surprised if that DIDN’T happen, wouldn’t you?

So thanks for hanging in there with me, if you’re still here.  If not, maybe you’ll come back when I have something interesting to share.  Take care and tell folks you love ’em.

6 comments

  1. Wow you’ve been through a lot lately. I’m so sorry to hear deaths in your family. :(. It must be incredibly hard but I’m glad you’re on a reprieve! These words are beautiful even though they are not yours….to be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud….what a wonderful thing and somehow I’m trying to do more of. Lovely image too!!!

Leave a Reply

